Toledo Junior Golf Association

Frank Stranahan Boy's Player of the Year

The Toledo Junior Golf Association presents it’s annual “Player of the Year Award” in the name of the great Frank Stranahan.

One of Frank’s early highlights of his distinguished golf career was in Toledo in 1940 when he won the Toledo District Golf Associations Junior Championship. The next two years he captured back to back Ohio Amateur Championships. In the following years Frank won many very prestigious amateur events including the British Amateur in 1948 and 1950, the World Amateur Championship five straight years from 1950 to 1954, as well as the Western, Mexican, Canadian and North and South Amateur Championships, each on at least one occasion.

In 1947, as an amateur, he finished second in both The Masters and the British Open and was runner-up again in the 1953 British Open. Frank was voted outstanding amateur in the United States in 1948 and was also a member of the United States Walker Cup Team.

He turned professional in 1954 and compiled a successful record by winning the L.A. Open in 1958 and placing high in other professional events.

Just as Frank Stranahan, the recipient of this award must not only have fine playing abilities, but more important, they must display those qualities of fair play, honesty, respect for fellow competitors, sportsmanship and dedication.

The 2019 TJGA season saw Clay High School's Senior, Palmer aye Rick dominated tournaments and the point system. Winning several tournaments and with consistent high level of play, he was able to win this Player of the Yearward! We congratulate Palmer and look forward to watching his outstanding play for many years as a member of the University of Toledo Men's Golf Team.


Palmer Yenrick
Clay High School 


1973 - Jim Decker
1974 - Alan Fadel
1975 - Judd Silverman
1976 - Tim Hirt
1977 - Tim Hirt
1978 - Mark Nickerson
1979 - Lew Dickey, Jr./Dave Seckinger
1980 - Steve Senger
1981 - Steve Senger
1982 - Brian Jorris/Cheryl Stacy
1983 - Brad Stoller
1984 - Doug Martin
1985 - Steve Stone/Troy Wright
1986 - Steve Stone
1987 - Steve Stone
1988 - Greg Smith
1989 - Mike Stone
1990 - Mike Stone
1991 - Chad Seilheimer
1992 - Chad Seilheimer
1993 - Chad Seilheimer/Matt Query
1994 - Ryan Leitner/Chad Seilheimer
1995 - Chad Seilheimer
1996 - Milt Carswell, Jr./Kevin Kornowa
1997 - Kevin Kornowa
1998 - Kevin Kornowa
1999 - Mark Bixler
2000 - Justin Kruse
2001 - Dan McIntyre
2002 - Jeff Blank, Mike Mefford & Ross Lingenfelder
2003- Brad Dearsman
2004- John Powers
2005- Jason Crow
2006-Adam Crisp
2007- Tim Hausfeld
2008- Paul Jimison
2009- Paul Jimison
2010- David Torchia
2011- Anthony Fanola
2012 - Patrick Sherlock
2013 - Trevor Dominique
2014 - Trevor Dominique
2015 - Jack Kunkle
2016 - Jack Hanus
2017 - Jack Hanus
2018 - Jack Hanus
2019 - Palmer Yenrick